8thdayfiction

…and on the 8th day, micro fiction was published on some dude's blog.

Fun And Games

The staff of Fun and Games magazine had their own fun and games one day at lunch when they tried to one-up each other over which of them had been given the most boring assignment ever.

Mike started it. “I once was assigned an Uno tournament in Trenton. I tried offering some of them steroids to spice things up, but they weren’t having it.”

“Please,” Jill scoffed. “Uno is non-stop action compared to the World Series of Marbles–which I covered. Don’t get me wrong, it is a lot of fun…if you’re an eight year old with no friends and it’s 1956.”

Margie cleared her throat. “Excuse me, but you’re apparently all forgetting that it was yours truly who got sent to do a write-up of the–wait for it–Connect 4 Bowl. I know, I know: Watching people stack checkers sounds AMAZING, but–unbelievably–it’s not.”

The group was getting into it now, laughing and discussing amongst themselves. Then Gerald spoke up. “Let me tell you something. You don’t know what boring IS until you’ve been to the World Tic-Tac-Toe Championships. I kid you not, the last two guys left at that thing played to a draw one hundred eighty-two times before they finally crowned a champion. I think the guy who lost actually threw the last game because even HE was bored out of his skull at that point. I’d say it was like watching paint dry, but I’d hate to disparage the fine sport of paint-drying watching.”

“Oh, don’t worry about that,” said Anne as she entered the break room. Making her way to the vending machine for a drink, she added, “They sent me to the Drying Paint Observation Invitational last summer, and it SUCKED. Disparage all you want.” She picked up her Pepsi and with a quick wave said, “Well, see ya later, guys!”

Everyone exchanged looks that all seemed to say the same thing: Yep–Anne totally wins.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

