8thdayfiction

…and on the 8th day, micro fiction was published on some dude's blog.

The FUTURE

Cheryl woke up and propped her upper half up on her elbows, then reached for her glasses on the nightstand and put them on to make sure she was seeing what she thought she was seeing.

She was. Bill was standing at the foot of the bed, wearing an electric blue full-body spandex suit.

Once he saw he had her attention, he addressed her.

“Greetings. It is time for you to rise from your sleep pod, don your all-purpose garment, consume your breakfast-time nutrition and caffeine capsule, and join me and our minor-aged male and female offspring units in the hovercraft for a trip to the local Christianity-based religious meeting structure.”

“Bill, wha—?”

“I know you’re confused. Things have changed since you were last part of the waking world. It’s the FUTURE now.”

Then she remembered. She took off her glasses, put them back on the nightstand, and threw herself back down on the bed with a soft thud.

In a weary, partially-muffled-by-the-pillow monotone, she said, “OK, Bill. We get it: You hate the “spring forward” losing an hour thing. Give me ten minutes and I’ll get up—that should be enough time for you to change out of…whatever it is you got going on there.”

She shut her eyes and heard Bill shuffle over to his dresser, pulling some drawers open, looking for “real” clothes to wear.

She had to hand it to him: He was COMMITTED to airing his grievances.

And if he ever decided to take up speed-skating, he had a head start on his wardrobe.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “The FUTURE

  1. Laura on said:

    I enjoy that your stories start with us as the reader wondering what is going on, almost an in medias res literary technique, and where sometimes the protagonist as well as the reader is thrust into an odd situation and as the story continues, you impressively unravel what has been going on and why. I love the sensation of being thrust in the middle and later suddenly understanding what is happening: your carefully placed descriptions/dialogue/clues unveil the story while giving us as the reader a happy feeling as if we ourselves were Encyclopedia Brown and were smart enough to comprehend everything, even though it’s a false feeling of smartness since you as the writer were really the unveiler. I’ve really enjoyed the stories thus far this year and look forward to them everyday. I especially love that you plan holiday specific stories. I’m also noticing that, as the story above illustrates, many of the stories involve two people with one of them acting crazy/junior highish/college boyish. My question is this: do you secretly want to be the person dressing in blue suits or talking in opposite talk or locking people out of the room until they state a crazy password? I’m thinking yes…

  2. Brian, I don’t know what “in medias res literary” techniques are, but you should totally let Laura write you reviews or forwards to your pieces. That’s some impressive French/Italian/Latin sounding stuff going on right there.

    Also, I hadn’t yet been quite able to put my finger on why I enjoy your stories so much, but now that I realize they make me feel like Encyclopedia Brown: CASE CLOSED.

    Hilarious as always.

    • [INSERT LAW & ORDER “CHUNG CHUNG” SOUND HERE]

    • Becky, you are too funny! I suppose all that jargon I heard non-stop in English classes at Messiah and then during my Masters in English wore off on me a little but most of what I learned is so forgotten (I think all I know now is how to change a diaper and sing kids’ songs) but all that term means is when the story starts in the “middle” and then there are flash backs or other what-not that reveal what happened before and also after. Toni Morrison and William Faulkner are famous for it but I remember studying them in highschool more than college. Anyway, thanks Becky for making my day: I mostly feel like the only thinking I do these days is decoding my 2-year-old’s babbling and of course the much anticipated daily story from Brian. Thanks for making me feel like an adult with at least a half-way functioning brain!

      • Hey Laura, I’ve totally been there, and know what it’s like to wonder if your brain still has the ability to come up with scholarly sounding, thinkerly thoughts. (and make up new words). Everything you wrote in that first response I was like “Hey! I was thinking that same thing! But not in such a well articulated way!” Don’t worry mama–you still got it. 🙂

  3. Allison on said:

    Ah, what the Cheryls of the word who are married to the Bills of the world have to put up with!

Leave a Reply

