8thdayfiction

…and on the 8th day, micro fiction was published on some dude's blog.

Bereavement Time

Tess picked up the phone and called in to work. She was hoping to get her jerkwad boss’s voicemail, but he was there early and he picked up.

“This is Brice.”

“Hi, Brice. It’s Tess…I’m not gonna be in for the next few days. My Grandma passed away, and I’m going to be out of town to go to her funeral. Sorry for the short notice. I just found out last night.”

“Well, I’m sorry for your loss. Especially since this is the third grandmother of yours who’s died this year. That’s rough.”

Tess responded with an edge in her voice to match her boss. “Yeah, I know it sounds weird–you’re not supposed to have three Grandmas. But she was actually my stepdad’s mom, and I was really close to her. She was like a third Grandma to me, and now she’s gone along with my other two Grandmas, so it has been kind of rough. Thank you for your concern.”

“Oh. OK, well…I apologize. I didn’t–”

“That’s OK. I should be back early next week. See you then.”

She hung up, put the phone in her pocket, grabbed her keys and suitcase, and headed out to the car.

It was a beautiful day, and she couldn’t wait to get on the road and get away from the routine. Other than crashing with her Mom and Dad, she had no plans for her time off. She thought maybe she’d hang out with some old high school friends, or maybe go to visit her Grandmas–both of them.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

