8thdayfiction

…and on the 8th day, micro fiction was published on some dude's blog.

Never A Dull Moment

People think it’s crazy when I tell them what I do for a living. God knows my parents were pissed when they found out: “We helped pay your way through law school so you could be an ALLIGATOR lawyer?” They would’ve been happier if I had chosen something less exciting but solid, like tax law, or even if I had chosen something like personal injury law–kinda sleazy, but at least it pays well.

But those things aren’t me. My passion is Alligator Law, so I went for it–and I couldn’t be happier.

And truth be told, I’m making pretty good money at it, too. I’m not going to get into specifics, but let’s just say my parents DEFINITELY aren’t worried about me any more.

I have a steady stream of clients. Mostly it’s alligators who want to sue for discrimination–you know, they’re mistaken for crocodiles, or not given equal access to swamplands or something. That sort of stuff. Pretty standard.

But every once in a while, I get a unique one. Like, just the other day, this guy calls me. Turns out, he and his pet alligator were BANNED from their local dog park, where they had been going for months–MONTHS!–without incident. Seems the alligator–ALLEGEDLY–ate a poodle. An obnoxious poodle that no one liked and was apparently getting up there in years anyway, from what I’ve been told.

So that’s going to be an interesting one. Could be groundbreaking, really. We could end up setting a precedent, opening up dog parks across the country to alligators and their owners. Could be HUGE.

Yep–never a dull moment in Alligator Law, that’s for sure.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

