8thdayfiction

…and on the 8th day, micro fiction was published on some dude's blog.

Equal Time

“So, everyone knows an apple a day keeps the doctor away, but my question is this: Would it also work if it was, say, applesauce or apple juice instead? The reason I ask is, I want to keep the doctor away, but I’m not a big fan of apples so much as I am apple-based products.”

“The comic strip character Mary Worth–she’s based on the lady who will appear and kill you if you look into a mirror and say her name three times, right?”

“I just wanted to correct the last caller: It’s only salt you have to throw a pinch of over your shoulder if you spill it. You don’t have to do that with Mrs. Dash.”

“I agree with the caller that was on before the last guy. The number thirteen is NOT inherently evil, it just gets a bad rap in the media. I mean, it’s Taylor Swift’s lucky number, and last time I checked, she was doing OK, so, you know, I think that proves my point.”

“I think that last woman was full of hot air. Typical Leo, am I right?”

*****

It was a “good news/bad news” situation. The good news was that “Science Friday” on NPR’s Talk of the Nation was so popular it was being expanded into a weekend edition.

The bad news was that due to some sort of equal time provision in the public broadcasting guidelines, this weekend edition was called “Superstition Saturday”, and it was ridiculous.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Equal Time

  1. Ha! I wasn’t sure where this was going at first!

Leave a Reply

