8thdayfiction

…and on the 8th day, micro fiction was published on some dude's blog.

Like A…

The members of Dead or Alive were working on their latest single. They wanted to get it just right, because it felt good so far. It felt like they had a hit on their hands.

But they were stuck on the song’s central simile. They knew they were keeping the line “you spin me right round”. The question was, “right round, like…” what?

There had been plenty of suggestions:

“Like a basketball on the fingertip of a Harlem Globetrotter.” That was rejected for being too wordy.

“Like a top”: Deemed too childish.

“Like a globe on its axis”: Too nerdy.

“Like a car’s tire”: Too grease monkey.

“Like a ballerina pirouetting”: Too frou-frou.

But then, someone–it’s lost to history exactly whom–suggested “like a record”, and that was it–perfect. It provided some catchy alliteration, but more importantly, everyone could relate. Who wasn’t familiar with records?

And it’s not like they were going away or anything; they’d been around forever. Sure, cassette tapes were big at the time, but they knew those things were a flash in the pan. Records were around before tapes, and they’d be around long after tapes went the way of 8-tracks. And it’s not like something else better and more convenient and efficient and less wieldy than records would ever come along.

So that was it: “Right round like a record” it was, and a pop music classic was born. And the rest is history.

Except records, which are timeless.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Like A…

  1. Funny!! It always takes me by surprise when my kids don’t know what things like ‘a 12 inch’ or ‘a mix tape’ are….

    • I really, truly miss making mix tapes. People always joke about how tedious it was to record songs one-by-one–on a TAPE, no less!–and how it seems like caveman/woman stuff compared to downloading tunes onto a CD or iPod playlist, but I loved the “tediousness” of it. I loved going through my CDs and hand-picking songs to record onto cassettes, and the whole process of timing it just right so your last song wouldn’t cut off halfway through.

      My point is: Yes, I’m old. And also, you kids get off my lawn.

      • hahaha, that made me laugh!!!
        I still have the mix tape my husband made for me when we were dating. Also i have a tape my grandfather made of recordings of me from a baby to about 12 years old, and it has his voice on, my grandmother and my great grandmother – they have all died long ago, but I still have their voices to listen to. Awesome. Take THAT MP3…

      • That is super awesome. Both of my grandfathers died before I was born, and I often wish there were recordings of them left behind. Seems like it would be the next best thing to actually knowing them and spending time with them.

Leave a Reply

