8thdayfiction

…and on the 8th day, micro fiction was published on some dude's blog.

Just Lucky, I Guess

So check me out: Green skin? Warts? Crooked teeth? Pointy hat?

No, no, no, and no.

I drive a Toyota Camry, thank you very much. Oh, I own a broom, but like most people, I use it to sweep floors, and that’s it.

I love wearing black, and I think it looks good on me, but I avoid it at all costs because–well, you know. And I’ve been told my laugh is, in fact, kind of a cackle, which makes me super self-conscious, and that sucks.

And yes, my name is Drucilla. But it’s not like I came up with that one. Thanks, Mom and Dad.

But annoying stereotypes aside, I like who I am and what I do.

Yeah, I thought about doing something else–forging my own path or whatever. I even went to culinary school for a bit.

But I figured out after a couple of months there that mixing up ingredients was just a substitute–a poor one, at that–for my real passion: Mixing up potions.

There’s just nothing better than standing over a bubbling cauldron and adding that pinch of eye of newt that brings the whole thing together. NOTHING. Honestly, it’s so much fun I feel guilty calling it work.

So yeah, it’s my job–but it’s also my love. It’s in my blood (which is also not green, by the way).

I’m just lucky, I guess.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

