8thdayfiction

…and on the 8th day, micro fiction was published on some dude's blog.

Excerpt From A Business Lunch With The President Of Genie & Company

That’s a great question; I’m glad you asked.

I actually started out in the world of philanthropy, working to make things happen for those who maybe weren’t able to make things happen on their own.

Eventually, though, I found the non-profit sector…limiting. People kept telling me I had the “Midas touch” (a term I don’t care for, by the way–Midas was a straight-up dope and so was that punk Dionysus–yeah, I said it), so I decided to use my skills to make myself some money. Nothing against the work I used to do, but–I just didn’t want to spend the rest of my life living in a lamp, you know? So I did something about it, and I’ve never regretted it. I’m not ashamed of being successful.

So I got into the consulting game, and basically what we do is we meet with individuals, companies, community groups–whatever–and provide them a plan to get them to the next level.

And the plan is simple. I’ve used it on every job we’ve ever had and it has never failed. I ask my clients:

What would you want for yourself, your business, etc., if you had one wish? What if you had three wishes?

And then, we make it happen. Wishes become reality. Simple as that.

Now, there are two ground rules: 1) You can’t wish for more wishes, and 2) Be careful what you wish for; we’re consultants, not mind readers. You may have heard about that lawsuit Novatel brought against us a few years back. Classic example of what happens when you violate rule number two. Long story short? They wished for their stock price to go up, we made it happen…then they go and sue us because it only went up by a dollar.

But the thing is, not to sound callous, but–we fulfilled our contractual obligations. Not our problem that your wish was actually more specific but you didn’t think to phrase it in that more specific way after the fact. And the judge sided with us, so there you have it.

But enough of that. I’m not one to dwell on the negative, and that is literally the one and only complaint we’ve had over the years amongst a sea of glowing reviews.

But don’t take my word for it–any time you need some references, I’ll get you in touch with any of our clients and they can tell you themselves.

So anyhow, let me give you my card, and you can think about it–all my contact info is right on there–and when you’re ready to start wishing, get in touch with me and we’ll start making it happen.

All right, then. Great meeting you–have a great day. I’m looking forward to working with you.

And I’m picking up the check. Yes, I am, it’s on us. I insist.

OK, then–take care. We’ll be in touch.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

