8thdayfiction

…and on the 8th day, micro fiction was published on some dude's blog.

Coming Up Roses

“OK gang–I got good news and bad news. Bad news: Parachuting is cancelled for today. There’s a storm comin’ through and we got cloudy skies and some heavy precipitation on the way. It’s just not safe to go up there.”

“Are you KIDDING me?” Percy shouted. “COME on!”

“Well now, hold on. The good news is that the forecast calls for clear sunny skies tomorrow, so if it works for you guys, we’ll just meet here then–same Bat time, same Bat channel–and we’ll get ‘er done.”

“Oh, for the love of…like I’m gonna wear my brand new parachute pants–the ones I got SPECIFICALLY to go parachuting in TODAY–again tomorrow? Forget it, man–I QUIT!”

Percy marched away from the group assembled in the hangar. He couldn’t believe his luck. He had realized after the first training class that he didn’t want to actually go parachuting, but he was too embarrassed to admit he was afraid. But now, he had the perfect excuse to walk away.

Not to mention a sweet new pair of parachute pants.

Yes, things sure were coming up roses for Percy Dorkwiener.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Coming Up Roses

  1. Dorkwiener – thanks a lot! Now I won’t be able to get that hilarious name out of my mind for weeks. As always, the laughs are appreciated.

  2. Brilliant. I wonder if Percy could come up with an excuse for me to wear banana clips and moon boots. Nevermind, I got it. (googles “80s themed space camp for adults”)

Leave a Reply

