8thdayfiction

…and on the 8th day, micro fiction was published on some dude's blog.

Archive for the day “July 28, 2012”

Good NIGHT, Chad

“So…I had a good time.”

“Yeah, me too.”

“Um, so…do you want to do this again some time?”

“Oh. Uh…sure, but I’ve been super busy lately–work and school stuff. Why don’t you just give me a call some time?”

Chad thought she sounded hesitant. But maybe it was just him.

“Oh, OK. Sure. I have your number, so–”

“Great! OK. Well…good night.”

“Good night.”

He leaned in for a kiss. The last thing he saw before he closed his eyes was her giving him a “What the–?” look and turning her head so it would be a kiss on the cheek instead of the lips.

Then his feet slid out from under him and he head-butted her cheekbone, knocking her to the ground with him.

“Oh man, I’m so sorry. Sorry–you OK?”

She got out from under him, lifted herself up, and brushed herself off. She lightly touched her cheek and winced. “I’m fine, Chad. I–I gotta go. Good night.” She hurried inside, slamming the door behind her.

As he struggled to get back up, Chad was ready to kill his frat brothers. This was his fifth date in a row that had been ruined by the rollerblades they’d superglued to his feet at last month’s party.

Post Navigation